Sewing Addict Fails to Seek Help WHY SHOULD I !!??

As a self confessed sewing addict/obssessive I have no shame in stating to the Planet yesterday I found myself in Haberdashery Heaven!!

Prepare to lose the will to live at the amount of pictures but I just had to share with you all the joys of Walthamstow Market in the East End of London.  Established in 1885 it is Europes longest street market and by gum is it worth every step. Some great haberdashery and fabric stalls BUT also shops, my giddy aunt I was near hyperventilation with excitement. Thank goodness I had phoned my eldest daughter the night before and asked if she fancied a jaunt into the East End.

My 2 daughters serve very different shopping purposes for me. The youngest is an utter colour and style guru whereas my eldest is super enthusiastic and this serves to futher my obssession. I have a full right hip replacement. osteo arthritis and degnerative disc disease ( please don’t feel sorry for me, I don’t…. am alive, kicking and SEWING as well as working to protect vulnerable families so no ahhhh’s needed here) anyway back to the point, strangely when faced with the sheer delights of Haberdashery Heaven it’s like morphine or the likes….no pain just a desire to get into every single shop have a quick reconisence, then once I have followed my usual modus operandi (yep all military terms …. it’s a military manouvre as you all will know) I then start back at the beginning and get into the serious buying and haggling bit. OM Gosh I love to haggle! 

Here is where eldest really comes into her own… excellent, in fact very best bag carrier. It’s important when rasing a child that they know their role in life, it gives them a sense of direction, belonging and self worth you know. Helping Mum is a life long lesson that I, as Mum can change the learning curve as and when necessary. They are clever girls, they manage to keep up with me :0)

Happy Mum equals Bank of Mum & Dad open most days!

Later in this update I will make specific mention to a couple of shops as the service was excellent and conversation an utter delight  AND the fabric choice was sublime. Whenever I trundle off into London I always have the best time so note to self is GO MORE OFTEN.

All this said, today I can barely move. Aches, pains etc but nothing can dampen my spirits, so many wonders purchased, just need to be able tp purchase time in the same way so I can complete all of my projects now! In addition to the fact that I had a superb set of ladies attend my Absolute Beginners workshop earlier this week, more on that later as well. What a wonderfully creative week so WHY SHOULD I be bothered about being the sewing addict who fails to seek help?

The only help I need is y’all continuing to support and follow me on my new blog, FB and Twit journey as it breathes joyous fresh oxygen into my life. THANK YOU XX

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 17:58:01

    LOOOOOVED this hysterically funny and oh soooo true post!!!
    Eagerly awaiting more photos, but do remember to have cuppas as needed. You gotta keep up your strength!
    xx

    Reply

  2. Trackback: wednesday | Curls n Skirls

Leave a Reply

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips tools & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Dance Like a Robot

Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

