Readers … Your Expert Guidance is Needed

I told a little fib, its 3m! Definitely has some man made in it but can clearly see a cotton weft .

I told a little fib, its 3m! Definitely has some man made in it but can clearly see a cotton weft .

50's crepe

I have posted to WeSewRetro.com the same plea… HEEEEEEEELP!

…I confess it’s my own fault BUT I have more genuine vintage fabric than any sane human being should have. To the point that my up and coming vintage fair on 2 November at Spitalfields Old Market could potentially be awash with cushion families.

Now they say why fix what isn’t broke ~ my families sell VERY well but I do have some fabrics, this one in particular that really should become something else.

It is a wonderful 1050’s crepe bought from The Polished Button and it is even more lovely in the ‘flesh’. From memory I think I bought 2 m.

IDEA 1 : Full apron, made from one of my many vintage patterns

IDEA 2 : A little girls ‘party’ dress again from a vintage pattern

What do you think?  Do you think it lends itself to something else? I would love to hear your ideas as I am on a creative juice overflow…. hence this plea for help!

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:31:21

    I’m loving aprons again these days, so I vote for that! 🙂

    Reply

  2. oursewingpatch
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:42:52

    thank you, I love them too. So much fun to make as well 😉

    Reply

  3. CurlsnSkirls
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:46:26

    Would also vote apron. What’s the scale & repeat of the print? What’s fabric content – cotton? Something suitable for kitchen messiness or hostess duty? If the later, hoick up the price! Can you get 2 aprons from the 2 m? Maybe a bigger piccie, with someone holding it up, would give us scale, pattern, & more ideas? Sorry about all the questions, Lovely One. Looks good, but wanna see more – sorry for being greedy.
    xxx del

    Reply

    • oursewingpatch
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:56:16

      Right ….. repeat is 22″ and pattern scale is the larger cluster of flowers 6″ x 7″. Give me a moment my lovely one and I will have HH hold up the fabric and get another pic oh darling demanding one 😉 xxx

      Reply

      • CurlsnSkirls
        Oct 10, 2013 @ 13:11:12

        Lovely Sweet Lady, many thanks for the piccie. A further favour? Would change my vote to dress, generalized small/medium style, something not too fitted – or maybe good ol’ kimono, easily slipped into for fitting-before-purchase. hello & thanks also to your HH! xxx del

      • oursewingpatch
        Oct 10, 2013 @ 13:18:30

        Oooooo now KIMONO, there is a thought! Very vintage, versatile size wise and a gorgeous thing

  4. xweets
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:51:22

    The fabric is too beautiful! I say Dress.

    Reply

  5. oursewingpatch
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 21:57:08

    Oh yes, hostess duty for sure x

    Reply

  6. oursewingpatch
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 07:30:27

    Mmmmm…. been thinking ALL night …..a dress? Would be so lovely but what size? I have no clue of the average size of a UK female adult and what is a popular age. Friend suggested lining a coat with it which again is a great idea BUT not hugely saleable at the fair. DANGIT! Ha! Maybe with 3 m rather than the 2m I thought I had, I can make both 🙂

    Reply

  7. laulipopnz
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 00:49:09

    Its too lovely for a apron, make a dress for yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

