I Will Stick To Sewing But …..

Egg head

Egg head

Its a blue wabbit!

Its a blue wabbit!

Rachel can do the knitting! A non knitter she as you may know from my previous blog had the right size needles BUT as they say a bad workman (that would be me moaning) blames his tools…. Rachel used standard sewing thread for the face and it is soooooo much better then my winking wabbit!  Way to go Rachel, see there is a craft for everyone. 🙂

I make an apron for R yesterday. She admired the fabric a while ago. I had bought it as genuine vintage but on its arrival it so WASN’T….. Initially a bit cross but when R admired it I made a mental note. mojo on the rise I got stuck in yesterday. Hope to have a picture of said item on it ‘s new owner soon but for now here’s the unmodelled apron.

R will be hostess with mostess at Christmas

R will be hostess with mostess at Christmas

Apron in genuine NOT fabric

Apron in genuine NOT fabric

With the rising mojo I have been meaning to make a simple winter maxi skirt for ages now, finally did it today. A jaw dropping 45 minutes beginning to end I immediately put it on with a super warm woolie as it’s turned pretty darned nips here in Blighty. Although a very basic design this will get worn loads. Just love a comfy, stretchy maxi for lolling around the house in.

Tomorrow, cutting out a pattern for a tunic top, a more challenging pattern. By that I mean more time consuming. Will share here with you first of course my dear reader ! X

Back of comfy 45 minute maxi skirt

Back of comfy 45 minute maxi skirt

image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 22:17:29

    Hey Pretty in Pink,

    Not to step on your toes in the sewing game but really I am quite proud of my hand sewn face on bunny. Think it will be best to leave it to you though!!! Isn’t it strange how our creations take on our personalities (i.e my dazed, glazed and otherwise naïve look and your cheeky wink) even though we worked the same pattern!?
    Very excited about my apron I have so many meals to prepare in it but I feel it’s spotlight performance will be on Christmas day where I endeavour to cook Christmas dinner for the first time ever. I’m dreaming of Stepford aiming for edible and preparing for disaster but I am safe in the knowledge I WILL look glamorous doing it… And yes I’m so getting a new outfit and shoes for this apron ;).

    Lastly just want to say thank you for encouraging me to actually use my knitting to create my first object of function my dear Grandma would have been soooo proud, unfortunately she only got to squares with me but her patience and devotion has finally bore fruit. I know if she was here she would say thank you to you.

    My husband has stolen my creation and is using him now as a mascot to protect his snacks from me. Should I worry if he starts talking to it?

    R xxx

    Reply

    • oursewingpatch
      Nov 21, 2013 @ 23:11:07

      Dear newly wed friend …. You have so much to learn my lovely. If he is talking to his new knitted friend this is a good thing, it keeps other women away!

      Nana was proud of you anyways and she will have been channelling through you hence the excellent result. Clearly a natural nutter. Oops sorry knitter 😉

      Looking forward to seeing the apron on amd the accompanying ensemble. See you soon my dear one. Xx

      Reply

  2. CurlsnSkirls
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 16:53:25

    So lovely to see R’s wittle wabbit, that gawjus apron, and a great skirt for yourself! Details on that skirt, please – knit fabric? your own pattern? elasticated waist? And the detail on the apron – a twin to the lovely teal trim you sent? Looking forward to viewing today’s tunic top, too.
    (Ms. R, new outfit & shoes to match sounds perfect – wear them in good health always!)
    Ladies, you two are a marvellous team!!!
    xx del

    Reply

  3. Sewin Love
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 00:32:10

    yes a knit fabric, clever you and another yes elasticated waist…..SUPER comfort was the order of the day. Can hardly call it a pattern though. Have a similar shop bought skirt but shorter….. laid it out on top of the jersey knit on my cutting board and wizzed around with my rotary cutter using the devil may care method of pattern cutting…. lady luck was with me hence the 45 minute skirt ;0

    As for the apron, you are an eagle eye Del, yes a relation to your trim. Have it in several GAWJUS colours. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

