Crochet, Cowl, Crazy !

With the success of the recent cowl/infinity scarf I wanted to further test the pattern on a chunky acrylic rather than a super chunky. As well as budgeting I wanted to see how it drapes. I didn’t channge the pattern at all just went at it and thought in for a penny in for a pound.  I have to say I am again delighted with the outcome.

The acrylic of course has a very different feel and in my world is a much friendlier yarn as I have an uncanny knack for shrinking ANYTHING with the slighest element of wool in it! This one drapes very fluidly and was made in just 2 hours, DD2 has modelled it for me and as you will see from the pictures, keeping her attention was a trick. Some film on the TV grabbed her attention just as I snapped one of the shots. Not grumbling though, the poor child is frequently called upon to model this, hold that, go grab this for me and so on. A great colour too so I think I may gift this to a good friend who I am seeing soon.

DD2 has put her order in for one in a teal shade and I have found the perfect yarn on a popular auction site, the 100g ball being nearly £2 cheaper per ball.  Mmmmm in fact I think I will order several colours as they don’t charge additional postage PLUS it saves me having to do battle with my brain on the whole going out issue, especially given that today, my first outing alone in a couple of months was a bit trying to say the least. The Post Office causing the most consternation, but that’s a whole different epic tale.

Digressing yet again ….. the whole point of the exercise is to be sure I am not putting something too challenging in front of my SMs as they are all novice. I am happy that this fits the bill beautifully as it will get the rhythm of the stitch going, grows very quickly ensuring an end product and with the pattern being simple and repetative it will help embed an important foundation stitch, the remaining foundation stitches will fall into place I am sure.

I submit yet another of my efforts to you great crafters and bloggers, hope you like it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 23:42:56

    Gawjus!!!
    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

