My Giddy Aunt!

Well Saturday was a corker of a spring day here in Bedfordshire, not that HH and I got a chance to potter in the garden.

That will teach me for doing a google search aye!

Its like this. HH and I have been batting off these pesky little moths in the living room of an evening. You know the wee suicidal sort who flutter around the light then swoop down and DINK bang into the side of your head. We had turned it into quite a sport, HH was winning on the score front, I’m a shocking shot especially giving I was once a demon netball player!

By pure chance on Friday I spotted a hole in one of my soft furnishings. This went with me to bed, in my dreams and almost my first thought as I woke! Hence, the google search. To be exact “fabric eating moths”. BINGO, well bingo in a bad way not the yipee I’ve won bingo way 😉 Up popped picture of said critters that HH and I have been practising our swing arms on! DANGIT! How bad was this going to be?

We stood and looked down our lovely garden that we had planned to spend the day in, getting her ready for a fruitful, blooming summer. HH made the sensible suggestion of a reconisence mission in the living room.

Armed with our super, duper Wertheim vacuum HH went in ahead of me (he’s a brave man). Well it’s a jolly good job he did go in first, on moving speakers and stereo I heard the words you don’t want to hear when you have a pure wool carpet.

“Think they’ve been busy darling”. Nooooooooo, ran in to see hundreds of spent larvea shells.

image

We threw open the patio doors and proceeded to remove the contents of the living room.

image

My job was to inspect and clean every item before said item would be passported back into living room. HH armed with Wertheim went to work. My giddy aunt, there were hundreds of these shells. Some spent, others live AND OMG a hole in  my carpet. Not a big one and not in a visible place but we know it’s there.

Hours and hours were spent on this mission, end result most satisfying. A fully de-mothed living room. Lavender on it’s way for me to make sachets. Apparently they hate the smell and next is the wardrobes. Keep your fingers crossed for us dear reader that the little blighters didn’t bother going any further given my lush pure wool living room carpet!

Give your drawers (wooden storage type) an inspection, be sure you haven’t had the same uninvited winter visitors. I have my fingers crossed for you 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 19:22:14

    My Giddy Aunt, indeed! What a day you two had.
    But WHAT ABOUT YOUR STASH???
    Will await further news & pray for the best.
    del xxx

    Reply

  2. xloz68x
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 16:12:40

    will keep my fingers crossed, although it does give you a good reason to buy more lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

