Grrrrrrr ………. I Hate Sewing !!!!

Well this afternoon I do anyway.

Have you ever had one of those days when you just can’t get it right but rather than stop, plough on and really screw it up?

That’s me today.  Completed DD2’s Bestie’s one hour kimono and am very happy with it.image image

Next was to be my Bestie’s but something told me to do mine first …… Jolly good job too!

Both are to be made from a chiffon/georgette. Diving in head first, all was going well but then CRASH. …. BANG ……. WALLOP!  The neckline.  Yuk, it is heinous .  The picture doesn’t show how truly ugly it is BUT at least this faux pas is on my kimono.

 

image

I usually prepare very well but think I had become a little nonchalant  with all the practice I’ve had and didn’t stop to think about the life of chiffon.  It simply doesn’t lend itself to the cheat method and had I bothered to think on it I would have known that ….. Silly billy!

So I will have to unpick the neckline and make a good old-fashioned facing to ensure a beautiful finish and of course one I can live with.

The positive I guess is I have learnt one new way you can’t sew chiffon…… Quickly 🙂

Note to self:

Fail to prepare, prepare to fail.

Bank Holiday Monday will be spent rectifying Sunday’s screw up.

Happy weekend my lovelies x

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 19:44:22

    Lovely One, please don’t feel badly. Your georgette information is VERY helpful for planning out my chocolate silk. ( It’s rather like your georgette.) Now I know I’ll need to do proper facings. So your comments have been EXTREMELY timely, and I am soooo grateful to know such a very talented and giving person. Plus your humour cracks me up! 🙂 xx

    Reply

  2. oursewingpatch
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 21:00:44

    Glad its helpful to you lovely 🙂 DD1 just landed in Toronto for her last few days then I get to see her again. HOORAH! Xxxx

    Reply

  3. Geraldine
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 03:25:49

    We all know that title is NOT true!!! 😉

    These are so pretty but that type of fabric can be challenging.

    I was sewing most of the day yesterday, what fun. Made TWO skirts!!! Ok, so they are simple ones but still, gotta love productivity. LOL

    Happy Week, G

    Reply

  4. oursewingpatch
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 06:52:50

    I’m with you on the productivity front 🙂 every now and again its about quantity !!!! Go G x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

