It’s In The Bag !

Having had a jolly good dose of the lurgies this week I am finally beginning to feel more like me. As I sat watching mind numbing daytime TV with hottie, blanket and pup for comfort, my sewing machine sitting at the other end of my living room was taunting me.

All neatly prepped for my oriental fabric bag which should have taken just a couple of short hours has turned into an epic torture myself week. Every day when I finally pulled myself out of bed I promised myself a bit of sewing ( the fix all medicine), but I just couldn’t seem to make it happen.  So in true creative’s style gave myself a sizable anxiety complex about being lazy and the usual blah blah blah! Why do we test ourselves when we are least able to cope with the test? Oops! Maybe that’s just me ….. am I alone in the ability to cause self-induced stress and anxiety?  AND why do I think about work when I’m home being all poorly? Sad Act I hear you cry 🙂

Sew today I finally sewed YEEEEHA! It was worth having everything cut and sitting there mocking me because it was as simple as plug in the machine and tally ho, off we go.  The MissouriQuiltCo from You Tube  that I have both used and mentioned in the past is the perfect, easy peasy way to make a most presentable and practical bag. Every time I use this method I am never disappointed, you could swing by You Tube and take a look. Some great little tutorials there.

Friend Del at curlsnskirls used to fantastic effect on her ‘Library Tote’ with some fabric I had sent previously. Here we go, a tangent ….. Note to self get next parcel finalised and sent. Have a few bits together but trying to find amongst my obscene sized stash a particular thingie to send.  I must refer to it as a thingie else the surprise will be spoiled 😉

What do you think of this tote being the next subject of an Absolute Beginners class? You may recall last year I did a few but with a simple cushion. Am thinking this tote would make a great starter for a beginner. Think any beginner would be happy to walk out from a 3 hour class clutching such a useful item!?

So dear reader, for your approval my oriental tote and a little doobrie with left over fabric. Said doobrie is perfect size for me to put all the vital miscellaneous dross I carry in my main handbag 🙂

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 18:50:22

    Oh, it’S GAWJUS!!! So glad you’re feeling better today, at least enough to sew. Know what you mean about all those goulies upsetting us just when we need to be thinking happy thoughts and being gentle with ourselves. But be firm – they will go away – when you shout loud enough!
    AB-so-tootly think the bag would make a great beginner’s project! And what about that kimono, too… 🙂
    You rock, Lovely! xxxxx

    Reply

  2. oursewingpatch
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 20:28:59

    Awww thanks Del. Xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

