A Strange Time …..

I’m pretty sure we all go through times in our life when we feel clueless about life no matter how experienced we thought we were. My personal roller coaster has been being out of work following a life changing experience, many ups and downs with some days being horribly dark (you know the type)  have culminated in my starting a new job last week wth a company who have been on my radar for many years and for all the right reasons. To be honest I would have choked on my cuppa had I been drinking one when Jane my new boss called me the day after my interview to say I’d got the job and how excited they were to have me coming on board. ME, silly, crazy, (apparently funny), quirky I’m an artist don’t you know darling me!!!!

No warmer welcome could have waited me and now 2 weeks in my roller coaster is on the rise. I am working with my most favourite client group lovely reader.  I am a pretty highly qualified support worker for vulnerable people but my specific group now is Older People.  I LOVE LOVE the group. They are funny, talented, rude, intolerant and just gawjus!  If that weren’t enough for me my ladies will sit and talk all things crafty till the cows come home HOORAH!

This group of people in our society are so over looked time and time again in the UK.  The wealth of knowledge sitting inside their heads just waiting to be shared with any one of us who cares to ask leave me humbled.

In just 2 weeks I have seen works of art made by their very own hands, some many years ago and some only last week. I have noticed the ones who have art in their life, be it sewing, knitting, gardening, baking or the likes are the ones whose emotions sit closest to the surface but also have the most life about them.

Maybe us young pretenders with our strange roller coaster lives have that to look forward to.  Being the ones who are more ‘with it’, ready to share, love and laugh.

For me in summary, being a creative has what I thought was its cross to bear – being an emotion pendulum but now I know it’s that very cross, that funny type of madness we share that will ensure our future will be wonderfully colourful, vibrate, textured and just down right FUN!

Even when I’m in ‘mad’ phase I can squeeze out some creativity. For beautiful Amelia the newest addition and first of the next generation in our clan, Great Neice an Auntie Samantha blanket 😍

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sewchet
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 13:44:49

    Congrats on the new job! I also have more of an empathy with the elderly as my father-in-law lived with us until his dementia turned this gentle man into an aggressive one. We found an excellent care home very close to us which we reluctantly resorted to for the safety of our young boys. It’s comforting to know there are people like you to show an interest in their stories the way we did at home:)

    Reply

  2. oursewingpatch
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 13:49:39

    Thank you. Even when a customer is raging at me using language you just know they would never normally use it raises a smile inside of me as it makes me think ” go for it… Fight …” and by gum they fight. Good for them 💖

    Reply

  3. CurlsnSkirls
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 05:15:44

    Congratulation on the new job! It’s delightful to know you’re happy & creative. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Dance Like a Robot

Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

