An Offering …

Finally have a wee offering after weeks of being busy doing ……….. mmmmm what have I been doing? Me thinks rather a lot of tail chasing which is neither fun or productive 😳

Did nab a couple of lovely bits of fabric at Walthamstow with DD1 and feel a medal is deserved as I for once in a lifetime only purchased what I actually needed *nods in respect to oneself* 🤗

In addition to fabric for a dress for my friends wedding yesterday I wanted a fabulously bling trim. The joy of a same sex wedding, if I can’t dress in super bling there, then no better opportunity will ever present itself.

Found the perfect trim at £4 per meter which I thought was a bit pricey until I found something similar but not as pretty IMHO on tinterweb at £20 per meter. My purchase became an instant bargain.

The sew was shall we say, a sweary Mary experience as the Devore was like sewing spiders web BUT it paid off as I got to utter those most satisfying words many times. “I made it” then watching the expressions such as ‘it’s witchcraft, clever, unbelievable etc’. Got to love those moments, they make up for past sewing tragedies.

Took my own advice after recent gaff with neckline shape and went for a very deep v neck, I was more than a little pleased with the end result.

It was wonderful to be with much loved friends and getting to see the last of the summer flowers and green trees before Autumn truly gets a grip.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CurlsnSkirls
    Oct 02, 2016 @ 22:05:05

    Love the dress, Gawjus One! And the bling is, of course, spot on (and at such a bargain, too 😉)! Good going with the neckline. That HH let you out t’house is a wonder, but as you were so good at Walthamstow… See you’re still doing the nails to match. Lovely! And love the hair blowin’ in the breeze (wind? gale?). Oops! Forgot to look at the shoes… So good to see you back here looking and sounding so good! xxx

    Reply

    • oursewingpatch
      Oct 03, 2016 @ 14:58:31

      Thank you my lovely friend. I went with plain court shoes but did sneak some flat gold blingers in my bag for the evening 😉 HH is always so generous with his compliments but this time extra praise was heaped so I felt like a million bucks before I’d even left the house. My hair has been layered which has given it more ‘style and texture’ whilst also making it not so heavy and warm. I’m really pleased with it. Thanks for your lovely comments xx

      Reply

      • CurlsnSkirls
        Oct 05, 2016 @ 01:54:09

        Your shoe solution seems imminently practical, and the layers do also, but a different sort of practical, my lovely. Hope that makes sense!

  2. sewchet
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 11:54:12

    Beautiful dress and glad to hear that you got to grips with sewing with the challenging Devoré. What did you wear underneath as it looks a little revealing….?

    Reply

    • oursewingpatch
      Oct 03, 2016 @ 14:54:23

      I wore a good old fashioned full black slip which worked really well for me as I do get rather hot and I was as fresh as a daisy which is one big plus for me. Just hate it when you spend an age getting the look right only to have the dragged through a hedge backwards look just a couple of hours later 😂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Beach Clean Art

picking up the plastics

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

James Wallman

Author, futurist, keynote speaker

Honey Hi Stitches

Stitched Art & Designs

Fancy Miscellany

Costuming adventures

Hooks Needles and Kittens

Where my kittens test out all my creative ideas.

repeated originals

A repository of fashion

Little bit of tidbits

Pleasing & informational bits!

Ms. Mouse Cleans House

Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Pootle and make

a sewing blog

Sew RED-y

Sew obsessed, sew excited, sew red-y to create!

Curvy Sewing Collective

A Plus Size Sewing Community

Fuck Off Bunting.

successful and unsuccessful craft experiments

ayarnyrobin

my crochet life and more

The Life of Lise

My life as a Stay at Home Mom and Doctors Wife

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

FabriCate & Mira

Sharing the Love and Art of Sewing

bay witch musings

thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

THE COMPULSIVE SEAMSTRESS

It's a compulsion, I just have to sew, sew, sew!

Linny J Creations

Creativity is the oxygen that I breathe.

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

sewinloveuk

Think and Dream in Colour... Be Creative

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Crochet Again

A crochet hook, yarn and a little creativity. Dog hair optional.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips & tutorials

My Love Affair With....

Leaving a trail through the adventure of life.

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Pleasant Plushies

...one skein at a time

handmade & home

be creative every day

Three Times the Fun

I don't suffer from insanity ... I enjoy every minute of it!

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

White Heights

Crochet, Crafts and Other Lovely Stuff

